top of page

Body Politic

Body Politic

Some girls

Cut

One drank

Bleach

They (we) disassembled drains

Shared lies

Over teaspoons

Of air

I wasn’t like

Them

I just preferred

Thin

Mine was a protest

Against the body

Politic

But they didn’t

Understand

You’re not

Eating

Listening

Committing to the belief

That you need to

Can

Change

He said

My doctor

A psychologist

He clarified

(not that it mattered)

As he set the yellow poster board

On the table

Between

Us

“Wall of Death”

Was written across the top

In black

Felt tip pen

Pictures of smiling girls

With Sparknote epitaphs

Glue sticked

Beneath

Their families cried

He said

I nodded

(which was right)

As I sat

And looked

At these girls

Who looked everything

And nothing

Like

Me

Catherine Alene is the best selling author of "The Sky Between You and Me"


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page