top of page

An Important Story

Sharing what needs to be heard when others refuse to listen.

7 years ago, I moved to the United States from Puerto Rico and the language barrier created a divide when trying to communicate with those around me.

When I started my freshman year of high school, I had the opportunity to take American Sign Language (ASL) and there was no hesitation in my choice to explore this new opportunity.

Every single day, I would begin to fall more, and more in love with this culture.

A culture in which individuals choose to ignore, one that should instead be desired to expand knowledge and awareness on the deaf community.

I work at a restaurant as a server, and one day, a man came into the restaurant. Instead of ordering his food, he pointed directly at what he wanted and as a result, coworkers tried getting his attention, but he did not notice.

I saw all of this happen and my inner curiosity and drive to help, inspired me to find why this man wouldn't look up, and how I could possibly help.

I approached the man, but he didn't seem to notice me.

I then chose to speak Spanish to him and see if he knew Spanish, yet the man continued to look down. At this point, the man signed the word "meat" to himself and I was excited to realize this man was deaf, and I knew I could help.

I knew how to reach out to this individual by catching his attention with my hands.

When he looked up, the first thing I asked was, "Do you sign?". From that point, his smile and excitement carried into what was an incredible memory.

I remembered by the look in his eyes, how happy he was, for within that reflection,

I saw myself.

The self, who struggled every day in trying to find something positive out of this new and equally terrifying, English speaking society.

And so, I have made it my mission to spread this message of hope.

For it only takes one welcoming individual, to create the smile I saw within him, within me, to make a potentially life-changing difference.

Juliet Lyan is an actress, singer, and YouTuber, and you can find her at any of the links below.


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page