top of page

The Light of Knowledge

“Class of 2010, may the future bring you happiness and everlasting prosperity.” These were the last words in my brother’s valedictorian speech, and it signifies a turning point in my life: from poor academic performance to academic excellence.

Growing up, my peers saw me as an outlier. It was no surprise; I expressed a peculiar affection for baby chickens, lacked dexterity in sports, and most unfavorably, exhibited traits of poor work ethic. My inability to perform basic arithmetic and comprehend reading passages stemmed from an unwillingness to learn, and consequently, kept me at the bottom of my class throughout elementary school.

It was May of 2010. As I arrived home from a typical day of school, my mother startled me as she uttered ecstatically, "Son! The school principal called to inform me that your brother will receive recognition for having the best grades in his class!" My mother's words took a while to sink in. I felt proud of my brother's achievements, but I became jealous. This jealousy, induced by sibling rivalry, sparked an ember that ignited a passion for learning.

I entered the sixth grade determined for success. Upon request, my mother purchased all the tools necessary for an A+: a Casio scientific calculator, Bic mechanical pencils, and a protractor. Within a month's time, I went from being a perceived underdog to exhibiting qualities of leadership, excellence, and achievement in the classroom. To my astonishment, I received straight A's on my report card, and to my satisfaction, my mother was proud. Over time, my desire to triumph over my brother's legacy manifested into a hunger for knowledge.

On weekends, listening to Richard Dawkins' podcasts became a priority on my agenda. As an evolutionary biologist, he explained evolution and its application to animal behavior in great eloquence. I grew fond of Darwin's theory, and a subsequent interest for science emerged. Throughout middle school I persevered, receiving honor roll distinctions. My GPA qualified me for Lake Nona High School's Health Science Academy, a prestigious science program designed for students wishing to pursue a career in medicine. To my gratification, I applied and was received an acceptance letter.

It was in the Health Science Academy where I found my belonging. I was no longer an outlier, but rather, a respected peer. Through collaboration and hard work, I built friendships, received high marks on assignments, and foremost, learned for self-satisfaction.

Che John is an upcoming college freshman and plans to attend the University of Florida in the fall semester. He is passionate about the sciences and hopes to one day practice medicine at one of our nation's best hospitals.


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page